Meet Our Team - Instructional Support

At KACS, we believe in the importance of recruiting, retaining, developing, and supporting great teachers and leaders who can help our students meet high standards.

Read on to meet them!




red glasses.jpg

Angelina Peterson

Reading Specialist


Education: Early Childhood and Elementary Education Degree- BS-  from Lincoln University Reading Literacy Education- M.Ed - Cambridge College

Experience: 18 years in Education; worked as a Kindergarten teacher, 1st grade, 3rd, 4th grade, Reading Specialist, Literacy Coach and an Adjunct Professor at Harcum College.

Fun Facts: Likes to travel

E-mail: apeterson@kacsde.org

00056.jpg

Meghan Serres

Math Support Specialist / Special ED Math 5 & 6

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: MSerres@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_153142.jpg

Rebecca Rodriguez

Speech Therapist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: SFerrell@kacsde.org

00013.jpg

Chelsea Slusher

Reading Intervention/Coach

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: cslusher@kacsde.org




IMG_20181016_123630 (1).jpg

Kimberly Heeman

Special Education Coordinator

Education: Bachelors Degree in Education from Molloy College
Masters Degree in Special Education from C. W. Post Long Island University

Experience: Ms. Heeman has spent twelve years teaching everything from preschool to eighth grade, and mostly worked with the special education population in each position.

Fun Facts: Outside of teaching, she enjoys reading and spending time with her family, including her two boys and dog named Sully. 

E-mail: KHeeman@kacsde.org

Professional Pic - Chudley.jpg

Briana Chudley

2nd Grade Special Education

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: bchudley@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_152725.jpg

Jemel Johnson

Special Education - 3rd & 4th Grade

Education: Mr. Johnson earned his Bachelor’s Degree from Western Maryland College and Masters Degree in Special Education from Grand Canyon University.

Experience: Mr. Johnson taught Special Education for 11 years on the high school and middle school level in Maryland. Last year I was blessed with the opportunity to become apart of the Kuumba family. I taught 4thgrade math and science. This year I’m honored to work as the 3rd& 4thgrade Setting B Teacher. 

Fun Facts: I AM AN EAGLES FAN!!!!!!!! FLY EAGLES FLY ON THE ROAD TO VICTORY!!!!!!!!

E-mail: jjohnson@kacsde.org

unknown.jpg

Eula Hooten

Special Education - 3rd & 4th Grade

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: EHooten@kacsde.org

CIMG8579.JPG

Kizzy Blackwell

Special Education - 7th & 8th Grade

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: KBlackwell@kacsde.org




CIMG8542.jpg

Diamond Lee

Special Education Paraprofessional

Education:  

Experience

Fun Facts

 E-mail

bio pic.jpg

Sarah Babcock

Special Education - K & 1st Grade

Education: B.A. in Elementary Education from High Point University.  Ms. Babcock is certified in Special Education.

Experience: Ms. Babcock has taught pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, first grade, S.T.E.M., and special education.

Fun Facts: She enjoys reading, crafting, running, cooking, hiking, and spending time with her husband Matt, their dog Tucker, and their cat Bo.

 E-mail: SBabcock@kacsde.org




CIMG8578.JPG

Pamela Barbo

Special Education - 5th & 6th Grade ELA

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: PBarbo@kacsde.org

Tom Parry pic (1).jpg

Thomas Parry

Special Education - 5th/6th

Education: Bsc in Sports Science, Performance Conditioning, York St John University, England. Currently studying for a M.ED. Special Education k-12 (Alternative Routes to Teaching Certification), Wilmington University. 

Experience:  I have three years experience of teaching in England, the subjects geography and PE. One year teaching students in the Delaware autism program.  I am about to start my second academic year teaching in the US, and looking forward to my first year at Kuumba. 

Fun Facts:  I play rugby, and currently the captain of Wilmington Ruby Football Club. As a child I played a game of tag rugby with Prince Harry at a training camp (Yes the royal Prince Harry!). I was born and raised in Leicester, England. Ran two marathons, and doing my third this November 2018.

E-mail: TParry@kacsde.org

CIMG8620.JPG

Terrone Warren

Middle School Math Support

Education: Mr. Terrone V. Warren is a long time resident of the city of Wilmington. Graduating from Glasgow High School and Delaware State University. 

About: Mr. Warren is the owner of Black Visionary Designs (BVD) Barber Salon located downtown Wilmington, Delaware serving the tri-state area. Mr. Warren is very involved in our community sponsoring for the past nine years the annual "coat and jacket" giveaway, "shoe and sneaker" giveaway, "Unity Community Day" and holiday turkey drives. Terrone has a passion for working with and supporting our youth by tutoring not only in math, but whatever subjects they may need assistance with. Keeping our community children busy and focused Terrone has formed a "Chess on the Square" which has resulted in positive energy with many neighborhood children.

E-mail: twarren@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Kathy Butterbaugh

Drama Teaching Artist - 7th & 8th

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: KButterbaugh@kacsde.org




IMG_20181016_111422 (1).jpg

Brynia Johnson

Black in the Arts Teaching Artist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: BJohnson@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Ivan Thompson

Film Teaching Artist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail




kuumba-logo-300.png

Christopher Caldwell

Physical Education Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: ccaldwell@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_113332 (1).jpg

Matthew Backer

Physical Education Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: mbacker@kacsde.org




CIMG8606.JPG

Ariel Harper

Spanish Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: AHarper@kacsde.org

_DSC1483.jpg

Darnell Miller

Music Teaching Artist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: DMiller@kacsde.org




DSC_2290.jpg

Stephanie Morton

Visual Arts Teaching Artist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: SMorton@kacsde.org




Apple Books.PNG

Kiara Richardson

Hip Hop Dance Teaching Artist (6th Grade)

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: KRichardson@kacsde.org

kuumba-logo-white-1200.png

1200 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
P: 302.660.4750


CONTACT US       FEEDBACK       DONATE       ENROLL

SITEMAP

Website produced by Trolley Web