Meet Our Team - Teachers

At Kuumba Academy, we believe in the importance of recruiting, retaining, developing, and supporting great teachers and leaders who can help our students meet high standards.  Read on to meet them!




Kindergarten Teachers

CIMG8596.JPG

John Vitsorek

Kindergarten Teacher


Education: Graduated from Drexel University; Currently working on Special Education Certification

Experience: Mr. Darnall was a substitute teacher and taught a Head Start pre-kindergarten class in South Philadelphia.

Fun Facts: He enjoys all genres of music and loves cooking and experimenting to make new food creations. In his free time, he can be found listening to records and attending area concerts.

E-mail: jvitsorek@kacsde.org

00022.jpg

Tykisha Bratcher

Kindergarten Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: tbratcher@kacsde.org

IMG_20170928_195854_738.jpg

Ralandre' Lacy

Kindergarten Teacher

Education: Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education (K–6) Studies; Certificate in Child Advocacy Studies; Currently working on Master’s Degree

Experience: Ms. Lacy has been a paraprofessional and teacher for over ten years.

Fun Facts: She loves traveling and spending time with her daughter.   

E-mail: ralandrelacy@gmail.com

CIMG8588.JPG

Colin Darnall

Kindergarten Teacher

Education:Graduated from Drexel University; Currently working on Special Education Certification
Experience: Mr. Darnall was a substitute teacher and taught a Head Start pre-kindergarten class in South Philadelphia.

Fun Facts: He enjoys all genres of music and loves cooking and experimenting to make new food creations. In his free time, he can be found listening to records and attending area concerts.
 E-mail: Cdarnall@kacsde.org

00025.jpg

Iesha Huff

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: ihuff@kacsde.org

CIMG8591.JPG

Taniyah Price

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience: Ms. Price has worked at KACS as a floating paraprofessional, emotional support paraprofessional, and summer counselor.

Fun Facts

E-mail: TaniyahP@kacsde.org

00033.jpg

Courtney Burrus

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: cburrus@kacsde.org

00024.jpg

Glendoria Duncan

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience: Ms. Duncan has been a paraprofessional for three years.

Fun Facts: She’s been married for 20 years and has two daughters. 

E-mail: GDuncan@kacsde.org




First Grade Teachers

CIMG8607.JPG

Jazmyn Robinson

First Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: JRobinson@kacsde.org

CIMG8575.JPG

Teresa Stone

First Grade Teacher

Education: West Chester University. 

Experience: Ms Stone has been a teacher at Kuumba for 13 years

Fun Facts: Ms Stone has 3 dogs!

E-mail: tstone@kacsde.org

CIMG8576.jpg

Tiana Sasu

First Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: TSasu@kacsde.org

CIMG8568.JPG

Kady Taylor

First Grade Teacher

Education: Ms. Taylor studied at Shippensburg University for her undergraduate degree, graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education K-6. She is currently a graduate student at Drexel University, studying special education with a special concentration in Autism Spectrum Disorders. 

Experience: Ms. Taylor began her teaching career in Cleveland, Ohio, as a founding member of a charter school, teaching first grade. During her three years in Cleveland, alongside being a classroom teacher, Ms. Taylor was a Student Support Team Leader, as well as a literacy curriculum builder. Now back in Delaware, Ms. Taylor has just begun her sixth year of teaching first grade. She works as the grade level team leader, as well as a teacher coach. Outside of the classroom, Ms. Taylor is an alumni of Teach for America, and a member of Engage Delaware, a small collection of leaders looking to make big changes for the kids of Delaware!

Fun Facts: My favorite animal is the giraffe. 

I love any tasty treat that involves chocolate and peanut butter :)

E-mail: KTaylor@kacsde.org

CIMG8593.JPG

Shysheen Nelson

First Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: SNelson@kacsde.org




Second Grade Teachers

CIMG8595.JPG

Lauren Corcoran

Second Grade Teacher

Education:Graduated from the University of Delaware

Experience: Corps member of Teach For America

Fun Facts: I love to read, go to the beach, and play with my puppy, Piper.

E-mail: LCorcoran@kacsde.org

CIMG8583.JPG

Nicole Lancellotti

Second Grade Teacher

Education: I currently have a Bachelor's in Elementary Education from Kutztown University of Pennsylvania. I am working on my graduate degree in reading from Wilmington University. 

Experience: I taught preschool for a year before coming to Kuumba. I also have experience working as a paraprofessional for special education, and I was a long-term sub. in a sixth grade writing class. 

Fun Facts:  I live in West Chester, PA and most of my family lives in Colorado. I am also a vegetarian, and I love spending time outdoors in nature. 

E-mail: NLancellotti@kacsde.org

CIMG8603.JPG

Cherelle Davidson

Second Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: CDavidson@kacsde.org

CIMG8582.JPG

Ellen Kraft

Second Grade Teacher

Education: BA from Union College, Masters in Education from Wilmington University

Experience: Ms. Kraft has been teaching for five years.

Fun Facts: I love to play tennis, knit, read, and take my dog Leo for long walks.

E-mail: EKraft@kacsde.org




Third Grade Teachers

00011.jpg

Kelly Hepburn

Third Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: KHepburn@kacsde.org

00008.jpg

Kingsley Colby

Third Grade Teacher

Education: I have taught for a total of 8 years in an urban setting. 5 of those years were in second grade and 3 have been in third.

Experience: I have taught for a total of 8 years in an urban setting. 5 of those years were in second grade and 3 have been in third.

Fun Facts: Outside of teaching I enjoy spending time with family and friends. I also enjoy reading and spending time outdoors.

E-mail: kcolby@kacsde.org

00012.jpg

Rebecca Slimbock

Third Grade Teacher

Education: Bachelors in Education from Widener University, Masters in Reading from Widener University 

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: rslimbock@kacsde.org

unnamed (1).jpg

Caroline Letner

Third Grade Teacher

Education: Graduated from Franklin and Marshall College

Experience: Ms. Letner is a Teach For America corps member. 

Fun Facts

E-mail: CLetner@kacsde.org

CIMG8605.JPG

Christopher Rodriguez

Third & Fourth Grade Setting B

Education: Currently in school for undergraduate degree; An active member of the Delaware Air National Guard

Experience: Mr. Rodriguez has been working with children in an urban setting for the last eight years through Urban Promise. 

Fun Facts

E-mail: CRodriguez@kacsde.org




Fourth Grade Teachers

CIMG8600.JPG

Nicole Gicker

Fourth Grade Teacher

Education: Graduated from Wilmington University

Experience: Ms. Gicker gained classroom experience at Providence Creek Academy, Prestige Academy, and Lombardy Elementary (in grades 5, 6, and 3 respectively) through student teaching and practicum placements. 

Fun Facts: She loves spending time with her family, going to events and concerts with friends, gardening, and keeping her fingers crossed for the Phillies. 

E-mail: NGicker@kacsde.org

CIMG8611.JPG

Morgan Lewis

Fourth Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: MLewis@kacsde.org

00013.jpg

Chelsea Slusher

Fourth Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: CSlusher@kacsde.org

Me 2.jpg

Kamika Dixon

Fourth Grade Teacher

Education: Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice from Wilmington University; Master of Science in Administration of Justice with a concentration in Criminal Behavior; Currently working on Doctorate in Education

Experience: This is Ms. Dixon's 2nd year at Kuumba.  She previously worked in the finance industry for 15 years.

Fun Facts: She is a bit of an adventurer, has competed in six mud runs, and plans to try white water rafting, kayaking, and indoor skydiving. 

E-mail: KDixon@kacsde.org




Fifth Grade Teachers

masters.jpg

Maureen Masters

Fifth Grade ELA Teacher

Education: BFA from Moore College of Art and Design; MS in Education from Neumann University

Experience: Ms. Masters taught at SGA for 7 years in New Castle, Delaware and has been the 5th grade ELA teacher at Kuumba since 2016.

Fun Facts: She worked and traveled the world as a fashion designer. 

E-mail: MMasters@kacsde.org

00017.jpg

Danielle Samra

Fifth Grade ELA Teacher

Education:

Experience: Ms. Samra has also worked at KACS as a second-, third-, and fourth-grade teacher.

Fun Facts: She took a year-long hiatus from KACS to travel. 

E-mail: DSamra@kacsde.org

CIMG8581.JPG

Crystal Hercules

Fifth Grade Social Studies Teacher

Education: Studied Public Health at Temple University in Philadelphia

Experience: Ms. Hercules taught Nutrition for the School District of Philadelphia. 

Fun Facts: She is originally from Rochester, New York.

E-mail: CHercules@kacsde.org

CIMG8619.JPG

Christianna Sieverding

Fifth Grade Science Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: CSieverding@kacsde.org




Sixth Grade Teachers

CIMG8587.JPG

Alexandra Cardozo

Sixth Grade ELA Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: ACardozo@kacsde.org

Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 4.47.38 PM.png

Kayla Sweet

Sixth Grade Math Teacher

Education: Ms. Sweet received her Bachelor's degree from Virginia Tech and Masters Degree in Curriculum, Administration, and Supervision from the University of Oklahoma. 

Experience:  Ms. Sweet taught Science and Math for three years at McLain 7th Grade Academy in Tulsa, Oklahoma.  Additionally, Ms. Sweet has worked for Teach For America Tulsa National Institute as a teacher coach and Biology curriculum specialist for the past two years.  

Fun Facts: Ms. Sweet moved 13 times before she was eight years old. 

E-mail: ksweet@kacsde.org

CIMG8612.JPG

Melanie Thompson

Sixth Grade Social Studies Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: MThopmson@kacsde.org




Seventh & Eighth Grade Teachers

CIMG8624.JPG

Danielle Harris

Seventh & Eighth Grade Social Studies Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: DHarris@kacsde.org

CIMG8620.JPG

Terrone Warren

Seventh Grade Math Teacher

EducationMr. Terrone V. Warren is a long time resident of the city of Wilmington. Graduating from Glasgow High School and Delaware State University. 

AboutMr. Warren is the owner of Black Visionary Designs (BVD) Barber Salon located downtown Wilmington, Delaware serving the tri-state area. Mr. Warren is very involved in our community sponsoring for the past nine years the annual "coat and jacket" giveaway, "shoe and sneaker" giveaway, "Unity Community Day" and holiday turkey drives. Terrone has a passion for working with and supporting our youth by tutoring not only in math, but whatever subjects they may need assistance with. Keeping our community children busy and focused Terrone has formed a "Chess on the Square" which has resulted in positive energy with many neighborhood children.

E-mail: twarren@kacsde.org

IMG_0002.JPG

Ariael Brooks-Porter

Seventh Grade ELA Teacher

Education: Graduated from Delaware State University

Experience: Ms. Brooks-Porter is a member of Teach For America.

Fun Facts: While she was an undergraduate student, she cofounded two organizations, joined four honor societies, and graduated in three years. Her passion is to empower, motivate, and educate the youth of tomorrow. 

E-mail: ab-porter@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Tamara Walker

Eighth Grade ELA Teacher

Education: Master’s Degree from The City College of New York; Currently working on Doctorate

Experience: Ms. Walker taught public school in New York City

Fun Facts: She is from New York City and has two daughters. 

E-mail: TWalker@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Kevin O'Connor

Eighth Grade ELA Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: Koconnor@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Joan Davis

Seventh & Eighth Grade Science Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: JDavis@kacsde.org




kuumba-logo-white-1200.png

1200 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
P: 302.660.4750


CONTACT US       FEEDBACK       DONATE       ENROLL

SITEMAP

Website produced by Trolley Web