Meet Our Team - Teachers

At Kuumba Academy, we believe in the importance of recruiting, retaining, developing, and supporting great teachers and leaders who can help our students meet high standards.  Read on to meet them!




Kindergarten Teachers

CIMG8596.JPG

John Vitsorek

Kindergarten Teacher


Education: BSED at West Chester University

Experience: Mr. V has been teaching kindergarten for over 20 years at only 2 different schools.

Fun Facts: Mr. V has three children and two dogs. He loves teaching and traveling.

E-mail: jvitsorek@kacsde.org

00022.jpg

Tykisha Bratcher

Kindergarten Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: tbratcher@kacsde.org

IMG_20170928_195854_738.jpg

Ralandre' Lacy

Kindergarten Teacher

Education: Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education (K–6) Studies; Certificate in Child Advocacy Studies; Currently working on Master’s Degree

Experience: Ms. Lacy has been a paraprofessional and teacher for over ten years.

Fun Facts: She loves traveling and spending time with her daughter.   

E-mail: rlacy@kacsde.org

00024.jpg

Glendoria Duncan

Kindergarten Teacher

Education:

Experience: Ms. Duncan has been a paraprofessional for three years.

Fun Facts: She’s been married for 20 years and has two daughters. 

E-mail: GDuncan@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_105050.jpg

Jon Paul Feretti

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Education:
Experience

Fun Facts
 E-mail: jpfaretti@kacsde.org

CIMG8591.JPG

Taniyah Price

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience: Ms. Price has worked at KACS as a floating paraprofessional, emotional support paraprofessional, and summer counselor.

Fun Facts

E-mail: TaniyahP@kacsde.org

00033.jpg

Courtney Burrus

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: cburrus@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_104918 (1).jpg

Montreze Threats

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

mthreats@kacsde.org




First Grade Teachers

CIMG8607.JPG

Jazmyn Robinson

First Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: JRobinson@kacsde.org

CIMG8575.JPG

Teresa Stone

First Grade Teacher

Education: West Chester University. 

Experience: Ms Stone has been a teacher at Kuumba for 13 years

Fun Facts: Ms Stone has 3 dogs!

E-mail: tstone@kacsde.org

CIMG8576.jpg

Tiana Sasu

First Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: TSasu@kacsde.org

20181015_113349.jpg

DeAmber Groom

First Grade Teacher

Education: I have a Masters of Arts in Teaching degree (K-6). 

Experience: I have taught 1 st grade going on four years now and have become familiar with 1 st grade curriculum. I have ten years of teaching experience in elementary, daycare, and military base facilities.

Fun Facts: I am a mother of two sons; Geremih (6 years old) and Malachi (5 years old). My sons are my walking heartbeat.

E-mail: dgroom@kacsde.org

00025.jpg

Ieshia Huff

First Grade Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: ihuff@kacsde.org

CIMG8565.jpg

Phyllis Herbert

First Grade Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: Pherbert@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_103916 (1).jpg

John Wallace

First Grade Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: Jwallace@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_104814 (1).jpg

Lisa Smith

First Grade Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: Lsmith@kacsde.org




Second Grade Teachers

CIMG8569.JPG

Elizabeth Trinkle

Second Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts:

E-mail: Etrinkle@kacsde.org

CIMG8593.JPG

Shysheen Nelson

Second Grade Teacher

Education

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: Snelson@kacsde.org

CIMG8603.JPG

Cherelle Davidson

Second Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: CDavidson@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Wanda Ford

Second Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts:

E-mail: wford@kacsde.org




Third Grade Teachers

20180331_135330.jpg

Naja Simmons

Third Grade Teacher

Education: B.A. Psychology
A.A. Early Childhood Education 

Experience: I have taught: Preschool, 2nd grade, 7th & 8th grade.

Fun Facts: I love baking and spending time with my family.

E-mail: Nsimmons@kacsde.org

unnamed (1).jpg

Caroline Letner

Third Grade Teacher

Education: Graduated from Franklin and Marshall College

Experience: Ms. Letner is a Teach For America corps member. 

Fun Facts

E-mail: CLetner@kacsde.org

1533755933002blob.jpg

Carolyn Scott

Third Grade Teacher

Education: Ms Scott obtained her bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from University of the West Indies. She pursued her Master’s Degree in Elementary Education at St Joseph’s University.

Experience: Ms Scott has over 21 years of experience in education.  She has taught Mathematics to third graders for the past 3 years. She loves teaching and believes that education is necessary for the full development of each child. She vehemently believes that it is the avenue where children can develop their intellectual, societal and physical growth. She thinks that students should garner education through a wide variety of methods as children learn in different ways: visual, auditory, kinesthetic and tactile. 

Fun Facts: She is interested in learning about new cultures and meeting the needs of her students. She is thrilled to have the opportunity to work with all the amazing students and their families at Kuumba Academy Charter School. She is excitingly looking forward to the rewarding days ahead.

E-mail: kscott@kacsde.org




Fourth Grade Teachers

IMG_20181016_104121 (1).jpg

Nicole Gicker

Fourth Grade Teacher

Education: Graduated from Wilmington University

Experience: Ms. Gicker gained classroom experience at Providence Creek Academy, Prestige Academy, and Lombardy Elementary (in grades 5, 6, and 3 respectively) through student teaching and practicum placements. 

Fun Facts: She loves spending time with her family, going to events and concerts with friends, gardening, and keeping her fingers crossed for the Phillies. 

E-mail: NGicker@kacsde.org

IMG_2604 (1).jpg

JuditH Lagares

Fourth Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: jLagares@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_103243 (1).jpg

Tomica Parham-Lema

Fourth Grade Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: Tparham-lema@kacsde.org

20507591_10214045977854519_8357874812078369706_o.jpg

Wilson Mercado

Fourth Grade Teacher

Education: Mr. Mercado graduated from Delaware State University in 2000 with a bachelors in Elementary Education

Experience: Mr Mercado is currently in my 19th of teaching.  He taught 12 years of 5th grade and 6 years of 1st grade at Marbrook Elementary.

Fun Facts: Was mistaken for a famous person in a mall and took pictures with 3 families.

E-mail: wmercado@kacsde.org




Fifth Grade Teachers

IMG-3436.jpg

Maureen Masters

Fifth Grade ELA Teacher

Education: BFA from Moore College of Art and Design; MS in Education from Neumann University

Experience: Ms. Masters taught at SGA for 7 years in New Castle, Delaware and has been the 5th grade ELA teacher at Kuumba since 2016.

Fun Facts: She worked and traveled the world as a fashion designer. 

E-mail: MMasters@kacsde.org

00017.jpg

Danielle Samra

Fifth Grade ELA Teacher

Education:

Experience: Ms. Samra has also worked at KACS as a second-, third-, and fourth-grade teacher.

Fun Facts: She took a year-long hiatus from KACS to travel. 

E-mail: DSamra@kacsde.org

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

JulLiet Gunn

Fifth Grade Social Studies Teacher

Education: She studied at Rowan University and received her masters from Wilmington University.

Experience: This will be her eighth year teaching, with most of her experience being in fifth grade

Fun Facts: She hopes to make your child ask questions about the world around them

E-mail: jgunn@kacsde.org




Sixth Grade Teachers

Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 4.47.38 PM.png

Kayla Sweet

Sixth Grade Math Teacher

Education: Ms. Sweet received her Bachelor's degree from Virginia Tech and Masters Degree in Curriculum, Administration, and Supervision from the University of Oklahoma. 

Experience:  Ms. Sweet taught Science and Math for three years at McLain 7th Grade Academy in Tulsa, Oklahoma.  Additionally, Ms. Sweet has worked for Teach For America Tulsa National Institute as a teacher coach and Biology curriculum specialist for the past two years.  

Fun Facts: Ms. Sweet moved 13 times before she was eight years old. 

E-mail: ksweet@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_102330 (1).jpg

Lauren Robinson

Sixth Grade ELA Teacher

Education: Bachelors of Arts in English from Delaware State University

Experience: Taught both 10th and 11th grade ELA at Caesar Rodney High School.

Fun Facts

E-mail: Lrobinson@kacsde.org

20160330_151630.jpg

Melanie Thompson

Sixth Grade Social Studies Teacher

Education: At Wilmington University, Ms. Thompson earned her bachelor’s degree in Middle Level Education with a concentration in English and Social Studies.

Experience: Ms. Thompson previously taught early education where she was nominated for the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Education. She also taught 6th grade English and Special Education in the Colonial District.

Fun Facts: In her free time, Ms. Thompson loves traveling and going to music events with her daughter.

E-mail: MThopmson@kacsde.org

IMG_8696.jpeg

Sheila Moore-Cratic

Seventh / Eighth Grade Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: scratic@kacsde.org

kuumba-logo-300.png

Kiara Richards

Fifth/Sixth Grade Paraprofessional

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: Krichards@kacsde.org




Seventh & Eighth Grade Teachers

IMG_20181016_102437 (1).jpg

Eric King

Seventh Grade Math Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: eking@kacsde.org

CIMG8624.JPG

Danielle Harris

Seventh & Eighth Grade Social Studies Teacher

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: DHarris@kacsde.org

IMG_0002.JPG

Ariael Brooks-Porter

Seventh Grade ELA Teacher

Education: Graduated from Delaware State University

Experience: Ms. Brooks-Porter is a member of Teach For America.

Fun Facts: While she was an undergraduate student, she cofounded two organizations, joined four honor societies, and graduated in three years. Her passion is to empower, motivate, and educate the youth of tomorrow. 

E-mail: ab-porter@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_102616.jpg

Tamara Walker

Eighth Grade ELA Teacher

Education: Master’s Degree from The City College of New York; Currently working on Doctorate

Experience: Ms. Walker taught public school in New York City

Fun Facts: She is from New York City and has two daughters. 

E-mail: TWalker@kacsde.org

3219d5f4-fb28-466d-b7da-61c59fffaa4a.jpg

Kevin O'Connor

Eighth Grade ELA Teacher

Education: He graduated from the University of Delaware in 2012, with a degree in Secondary English Education. His goal is to obtain a Master's Degree in English Literature within the next few years.

Experience:  Mr. O'Connor is in his second year as an English Teacher. 

Fun Facts:  In his spare time, he enjoys spending time outdoors and traveling whenever possible, having been all over Europe, North America, Australia, and Africa.

 

E-mail: Koconnor@kacsde.org

fa16b77f-c506-4190-9b28-85429107e8aa.jpg

Joan Davis

Seventh & Eighth Grade Science Teacher

Education: Ms. Davis was born and raised in Wilmington, and attended Dickinson High School and Cab Calloway.  She earned her undergraduate degree at Wilmington University with a BS in Psychology and received her Masters in Special Education.  This is her fourth year teaching.

Experience: Ms. Davis has a long history of being involved in arts activities and performing with the Christina Cultural Arts Center.  She has also done theater all around the city of Wilmington.

Fun Facts: In her spare time, Ms. Davis loves music, concerts, and traveling with her sons.

E-mail: JDavis@kacsde.org




kuumba-logo-white-1200.png

1200 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
P: 302.660.4750


CONTACT US       FEEDBACK       DONATE       ENROLL

SITEMAP

Website produced by Trolley Web