Meet Our Team - Faculty & Administration

At KACS, we believe in the importance of recruiting, retaining, developing, and supporting great teachers and leaders who can help our students meet high standards.

Read on to meet them!

CIMG8627.JPG

Sally Maldonado

Head of School


Education

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: SMaldonado@kacsde.org

DSC09466 (1).jpg

Ayanna Johnson

Principal

Education: Bachelors degree in Afro-American Studies from Harvard University; Masters degree in Multicultural Education from Eastern University

Experience:  Has taught K - 10th grade and served as a Math Specialist and Director of Curriculum and Instruction before becoming a Principal. Named Teacher of the Year and founded a private school in New Jersey in 1995. Has served as a Principal for 9 years in New Jersey, Pennsylvania and now Delaware.

Fun Facts:  I played the violin in school from 1st grade through 7th grade.

E-mail: ajohnson@kacsde.org

00047.jpg

Sindia Maldonado

Business Operations Manager / Human Resources

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: SRodriguez@kacsde.org

CIMG8622.JPG

Douglas Cuffy

Upper School Dean - 7th & 8th Grade 

Education

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: DCuffy@kacsde.org

IMG981113a.jpg

Jamillah Posey

Upper School Dean 5th & 6th Grade

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: JPosey@kacsde.org

CIMG8597.JPG

Genelle Freeman

Lower School Dean

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: Gsaul@kacsde.org

CIMG8571.JPG

Ken Brown

Family Engagement Director

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: KBrown@kacsde.org

00035.jpg

Samantha Connell

Director of Instruction

Education:  Ms. Connell earned her BA from University of Pittsburgh in History, and her M.Ed from Wilmington University.  She also has successfully completed Relay GSE's National Principal Academy Fellowship.

Experience: Ms. Connell has worked at Kuumba since 2009, during which she taught 4th, 5th and 6th grade ELA, worked as an instructional coach and now serves as Director of Instruction. 

Fun Facts: Originally from Pittsburgh, she is a huge Pittsburgh sports fan. She enjoys watching games with her cockapoo, Steven

E-mail: sconnell@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_103016 (1).jpg

Carol Moore

3rd Floor Nurse Station

Education: Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Wilmington University.  Basic School Nurse Certificate from the University of Delaware.  Currently working on National School Nurse Certification 

Experience: Twenty years of experience as a school nurse in grades K-8 and 5-8. Nineteen years of experience in medical-surgical nursing  at Wilmington Hospital

Fun Facts: Lifelong Learner. Enjoys vacationing and spending time with children, especially her eleven-year-old granddaughter Jordyn and her two dogs Bouncer and Grace as well as her grand dog Jackie. 

Volunteer for the Delaware Medical Reserve Corps

E-mail: CMoore@kacsde.org

CIMG8619.JPG

Christianna Sieverding

Academic Operations Lead

Education:  University of Rochester 2015, BA, Classics & Art History

Relay GSE 2017, MA

Experience: This is my 4th year at Kuumba Academy

Fun Facts: I am originally from New York and have a rescued pit bull named Elsa.

E-mail: Csieverding@kacsde.org

Carr.png

Cherri Carr

Lower School Receptionist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: CCarr@kacsde.org

P1040256.JPG

Michelle Bauza

Upper School Receptionist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: MBauza@kacsde.org

00057 (1).jpg

Eric Hoover

Development Director

Education: Undergrad at Juniata College, Masters Degree at Philadelphia University in Sustainable Design.

Experience: Worked as Development Director of Serviam Girl's Academy for two years before joining the Kuumba Academy team.

Fun Facts: I have a twin brother who looks just like me.  I enjoy running, playing ultimate frisbee, gardening, and playing music.

E-mail: ehoover@kacsde.org

20180613_212803.png

Teri Riggs

Guidance Counselor

Education

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: TRiggs@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Daryl Connor

Family Crisis Therapist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: DConnor@kacsde.org

IMG_1392.JPG

Helen Ford

Behavioral Health Therapist

Education: B.A. in Psychology and Human Development from the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa; Master’s Degree in Family Therapy from Drexel University

Experience

2005-2006 The Bridge; adolescent male residential substance abuse treatment facility

2006-2006 The Forensic Family Therapy Program; outpatient mental health facility

2006-2014 Northeast Treatment Center; Family Focused Behavioral Health Program and In-School Therapeutic Support Program Team Leader and Program Manager

2010-2011 Intercultural Family Services; Functional Family Therapy Program

2014-Present Department of Prevention and Behavioral Health; The Behavioral Consultants Program - Maurice J. Moyer Academic Institute, Thomas A. Edison Charter School, Kuumba Academy Charter School

Fun Facts: Ms. Ford is originally from Birmingham, Alabama. 

E-mail: Helen.Ford@state.de.us

P1030987.JPG

Deon Booker

Behavioral Interventionist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: dbooker@kacsde.org

00053.jpg

Norberto Rivera

Building Engineer / Custodian

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: NRivera@kacsde.org

IMG_20181016_105422 (1).jpg

Wayne Kingston

Technology

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: WKingston@kacsde.org

00039.jpg

Greg Gorham

Technician

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: GGorham@kacsde.org

CIMG8561.jpg

Sariah Carr

Technician

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: scarr@kacsde.org

kuumba-logo-white-1200.png

1200 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
P: 302.660.4750




CONTACT US       FEEDBACK       DONATE       ENROLL

SITEMAP

Website produced by Trolley Web