Meet Our Team - Faculty & Administration

At KACS, we believe in the importance of recruiting, retaining, developing, and supporting great teachers and leaders who can help our students meet high standards.

Read on to meet them!

CIMG8627.JPG

Sally Maldonado

Head of School


Education

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: SMaldonado@kacsde.org

00052.jpg

Tamara Price

Assistant Head of School

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: TPrice@kacsde.org

00047.jpg

Sindia Maldonado

Business Manager / Human Resources

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: SRodriguez@kacsde.org

CIMG8622.JPG

Douglas Cuffy

Upper School Dean - 7th & 8th Grade 

Education

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: DCuffy@kacsde.org

download (1).jpg

Jamillah Posey

Upper School Dean 5th & 6th Grade

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: JPosey@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Lamar Roane

Lower School Dean - 2nd, 3rd, & 4th Grade

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: LRoane@kacsde.org

CIMG8571.JPG

Ken Brown

Lower School Dean - Kindergarten & 1st Grade

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: KBrown@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Carol Moore

3rd Floor Nurse Station

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: CMoore@kacsde.org

CIMG8626.JPG

Rasheeda Ames Davis

Health Office

Education:  BS Degree in Community Health from Delaware State University; Attended a one-year nursing program

Experience: Ms. Ames-Davis has worked in education for more than ten years. She has been a nurse for eight years and a school nurse for four years.

Fun Facts: She has been married to her college sweetheart for 15 years and has two children.

E-mail: RDavis@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Cherri Carr

Lower School Receptionist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: CCarr@kacsde.org

P1040256.JPG

Michelle Bauza

Upper School Receptionist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: MBauza@kacsde.org

00057 (1).jpg

Eric Hoover

Development Director

Education: Undergrad at Juniata College, Masters Degree at Philadelphia University in Sustainable Design.

Experience: Worked as Development Director of Serviam Girl's Academy for two years before joining the Kuumba Academy team.

Fun Facts: I have a twin brother who looks just like me.  I enjoy running, playing ultimate frisbee, gardening, and playing music.

E-mail: ehoover@kacsde.org

CIMG8592.JPG

Lauren Samples

Guidance Counselor

Education: Bachelor of Science from University of Delaware. Master's degree in School Counseling from Wilmington University.

Experience: Ms. Samples has worked as a teacher at a non-profit organization in Newark, DE for four years and as a substance abuse and mental health counselor for three years in Newark and Wilmington.

Fun Facts: Outside of counseling, Ms. Samples enjoys spending time with her family and friends, traveling to new places, and doing home renovations. 

E-mail: LSamples@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Daryl Connor

Family Crisis Therapist

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: DConnor@kacsde.org

IMG_1392.JPG

Helen Ford

Behavioral Health Therapist

Education: B.A. in Psychology and Human Development from the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa; Master’s Degree in Family Therapy from Drexel University

Experience

2005-2006 The Bridge; adolescent male residential substance abuse treatment facility

2006-2006 The Forensic Family Therapy Program; outpatient mental health facility

2006-2014 Northeast Treatment Center; Family Focused Behavioral Health Program and In-School Therapeutic Support Program Team Leader and Program Manager

2010-2011 Intercultural Family Services; Functional Family Therapy Program

2014-Present Department of Prevention and Behavioral Health; The Behavioral Consultants Program - Maurice J. Moyer Academic Institute, Thomas A. Edison Charter School, Kuumba Academy Charter School

Fun Facts: Ms. Ford is originally from Birmingham, Alabama. 

E-mail: Helen.Ford@state.de.us

Apple Books.PNG

Tysheka Johnson

Public Ally

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: TJohnson@kacsde.org

00053.jpg

Norberto Rivera

Building Engineer / Custodian

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: NRivera@kacsde.org

Apple Books.PNG

Wayne Kingston

Technology

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: WKingston@kacsde.org

00039.jpg

Greg Gorham

Technician

Education:

Experience

Fun Facts

E-mail: GGorham@kacsde.org



kuumba-logo-white-1200.png

1200 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
P: 302.660.4750


CONTACT US       FEEDBACK       DONATE       ENROLL

SITEMAP

Website produced by Trolley Web